The University Senate is the highest academic authority in the university. It issues and endorses all academic affairs. The University Senate provides an opportunity for the academic staff, senior administrators and student representatives to participate in shared governance.

  • The Senate of the University is composed of:
  • The Vice-Chancellor (Chairperson).
  • The Deputy Vice-Chancellor.
  • The Academic Secretary (Convener).
  • The Principal.
  • The Dean of Students.
  • The University Librarian.
  • Deans and Deputy Deans
  • Directors of Schools, Institutes and Centers.
  • Heads of Departments.
  • University Professors.
  • Two students representing the Students' Union.

Authorities and responsibilities of the Senate

  1. Issues and regulates the academic requirements for students' admission to the University courses and programs and requirements for the award of certificates and prizes.
  2. Responsible for the general regulation of study courses and university examinations.
  3. Approves extra-mural studies courses.
  4. Confers and awards degrees, diplomas, certificates and other distinctions to persons who pursued a study course that has been approved by the Senate in the Regulations.
  5. Confers honorary degrees and other distinctions to distinguished persons deemed worthy thereof in accordance with the Regulations.
  6. Reports on any matter referred to it by the University Council and makes appropriate recommendations on all matters relating to the University.

The Senate has the authority to:

  • Create and appoint committees to deal with matters relevant to its functions and powers.
  • Provide for the creation and appointment of Boards of Studies to assist the Senate and the Faculty Boards in the handling of academic matters.
  • Deprive any person who has been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude or who, in its opinion, has been guilty of dishonorable or scandalous conduct, of any degree or other distinction conferred by it and also of all privileges enjoyed in virtue of such degree or other distinctions provided that:

i.  Every person so deprived shall have the right to appeal to the Council against the decision of the Senate, and the council's decision thereafter shall be final.

ii. The Senate shall have power to restore any degree or other distinctions or any privilege of which the person may have been deprived.

The Senate sets the regulations for conduct of its own business and for the proper discharge of the functions and powers conferred upon it by or under the Act of the University.

Such regulations come into force when signed by the Vice-Chancellor unless a later date has been prescribed.

The Senate determines the time and the place that it will meet. The Vice-Chancellor, however, has the power to call a meeting at any time.

In the absence of the Vice-Chancellor, his Deputy presides over the meeting of the Senate. In case of the absence of both the Vice-Chancellor and his Deputy, the Senate elects one of its attending members to preside over the meeting.

The Senate has the power to invite any person to attend any meeting (or part of a meeting) provided that the person has no power to vote.

Committees of Senate

The Senate may, from time to time, by election from amongst its members, constitute committees and entrust to such committees any of its functions.

The current Committees Senate are:

  1. Admission and Registration Committee
  2. Admission and Registration Executive Committee
  3. Examination and Prizes Committee
  4. Teaching Assistants' Recruitment Committee
  5. Executive Committee for Training